The Power of a Child for it’s Mother

This story has been circulating on the internet and is truly amazing from so many view points.  For us it shows clearly (if we didn’t already know!), that a mother has such a strong bond and connection with her baby that she has carried in her womb that the sound of her baby’s cry is strong enough to bring this mother out of a coma. Wow!

http://www.blurb.com/b/6235405-shelly…

“As the night comes to a close, I reflect on my day and how different it was than at the same time a year ago. What a difference a year makes! Last year I was fighting for my life, and this year I have a 1 year old who is thriving, and I am back in nursing school doing what I love. Satan tried to take me down, but thanks to our mighty God and all of you amazing prayer warriors, what could have been an end to my life has just been a bump in the road on my journey! Can’t wait to discover what God has planned for my life, and to just enjoy the ride on the way there!”

CONCORD, N.C. — A North Carolina mother who went into a coma after childbirth woke up after hearing her baby cry.

Shelly Cawley, 23, told WCNC that she remembers crying in her hospital room because she was scared that she was not going to wake up after having an emergency C-section.

“Which is kind of eerie to look back on because I was right.” Shelly said.

During the surgery, a blood clot broke loose and she went into a coma.

“She had a lot of fluid in her lungs, they were having trouble getting oxygen to her brain, they were having trouble with her blood pressure up.” Shelly’s husband, Jeremy Cawley, said. “And it just seemed as if she was done fighting.”

After the new mother was in a coma for a week, the nursing staff came up with a great idea.

“We knew skin to skin contact is very beneficial to an infant, so we thought why not try it for a mom,” Staff Nurse Ashley Manus told WCNC.

Jeremy put their baby daughter, Rylan, on Shelly.

When Rylan eventually started crying, doctors saw a spike in Shelly’s vitals.

“They say they saw a spike in my vitals when she did cry,” Shelly told FOX46. “They think that me hearing her subconsciously gave my body and my subconscious a reason to fight. That I still needed to be there for my baby.”

A few days later Shelly woke up. Shelly Cawley with husband Jeremy and daughter Rylan a year after her crying baby helped wake her from a coma. (Photo: Facebook/Shelly Ann Cawley)

A year after her newborn daughter helped wake her from a coma, a North Carolina mom is celebrating how far they both have come.

Last September, Shelly Cawley went into labor and had to undergo an emergency C-section. “I clearly remember lying on the stretcher to take me back to the operating room, and I was crying. I was telling the doctors I was scared that I wasn’t going to wake up from my surgery,” she told WCNC.

Shelly’s fear almost came true. Though doctors delivered a healthy baby girl, a blood clot broke loose during Shelly’s surgery and sent the new mom into a coma. Hours later, she still hadn’t woken up. “The doctors had done all they could, and it was clear they absolutely thought they were losing her at this point,” Jeremy Cawley, Shelly’s husband, told People.

But a nurse at Carolinas HealthCare System NorthEast, where Shelly was being treated, had one final idea. “We’re a big proponent of skin-to-skin [contact]. We believe it has great benefits for the mom and the baby, and we just thought it can’t hurt, might as well give it a try,” nurse Ashley Manus told People. “I was hoping somewhere deep down Shelly was still there and could feel her baby, hear her baby, and her mother’s instincts would come out and she would realize,
Shelly’s fight wasn’t over, but the sound of her baby’s voice started her recovery. “It was the crying that got Shelly going again, got her fighting again,” Jeremy told People. “I got my wife back.”

A week later, Shelly came out of her coma completely and was, ultimately, fine. Today and she and Rylan are healthy and happy. Last week, the Cawley family celebrated Rylan’s first birthday, and Shelly posted a “then and now” photo to Facebook, celebrating how far she and her daughter have come. “As the night comes to a close, I reflect on my day and how different it was than at the same time a year ago. What a difference a year makes! Last year I was fighting for my life, and this year I have a 1 year old who is thriving, and I am back in nursing school doing what I love,” she wrote. “Can’t wait to discover what God has planned for my life, and to just enjoy the ride on the way there!”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.