Rape & the Unbelievable

We have tackled the difficult subject of rape and abortion many times on this blog but today I came across an aspect of this topic which left me speechless.  Let me tell you that doesn’t happen often!

An American woman, Shauna Prewitt had rejected abortion after being raped at the age of 21 and later wrote of the experience to a politician.

You see, to my surprise, I did not altogether hate the life growing inside of me. Instead, I felt a sort of kinship, a partnership – perhaps the kind that only develops between those who have suffered together – but, nevertheless, I felt a bond.

She gave birth to a baby girl and not long afterwards, the father of the child, ie the man who raped her, applied for full custody of the baby!!

I find that hard to believe but in some states in America, this is a common occurence.

Shauna was an invited guest at a prolife conference recently and a short advert was made to publicise it.  Her eloquent testimony says everything that needs to be said when it comes to rape and abortion.

One Response to Rape & the Unbelievable

  1. Ellen Kolb says:

    Shauna came to speak to my state’s legislature (New Hampshire, USA) this year in order to support a bill to keep rapists from getting custody of rape survivors’ children. Her testimony prevailed. She has great courage.

Leave a Reply

